About Us

Category: WAMSARR Main


We are the West Africa Maritime SAR Region, also referred to as the Liberia Maritime SAR Region as designated by the 2000 Florence Conference.

It can be recalled that Liberia and four other African countries (Kenya, South Africa, Nigeria and Morocco), at the 2000 Florence Conference on Maritime Search and Rescue and Global Maritime Distress and Safety System, which considered a regional approach to the provision of maritime SAR services in Africa, were selected as host nations for the establishment of five Regional Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centers (RMRCCs), each covering a distinct delineated maritime Search and Rescue Region (SRR).

As part of its regional obligations under international conventions and regulations to aid in the safety of life and property at sea and in the region's inland waterways, the countries of the West Africa Maritime SAR Region met twice in Accra and Monrovia respectively in 2007, and at the third of such meetings in the same year, a 'Multilateral Agreement on the Co-ordination of Maritime SAR Services' was signed in Monrovia on 9 November 2007.

The first three meetings led to the establishment of the Regional SAR Committee and the frameworks of the Multilateral Agreement.

The Regional SAR Committee Meeting, which convenes at least once a year, has been ongoing since the Monrovia Meeting in 2009.



i.  elaborate a regional plan for the co-ordination of maritime SAR services so as to meet international 
ii. support lifesaving provisions of the International Convention on Maritime Search and Rescue of
  the International Maritime Organization (IMO), the Convention on International Civil Aviation of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and other relevant international instruments;
afi. put at disposal an overall co-ordination plan for SAR operations and allow for the efficient use of 
  all available resources and mutual assistance, and look for means to improve that sub regional cooperation;
iv. integrate available resources which can be used for SAR into a co-operative network for greater
  cost efficiency in the protection of life and property.




The Chairman of the Committee is appointed on a rotational basis for a two-year term. The Chairman is tasked to chair the meetings of the Committee.

Past & Current Chairmen Years in office
Liberia April 2009 - March 2013
Cote D'Ivoire March 2013 - present

The Current Chairman is:

Captain William Kweku Asuako-Owiredu, Deputy Director, Maritime Security, Search & Rescue, Ghana Maritime Authority.


Permanent Secretariat

Liberia, at the Second Committee Meeting in Monrovia, from 25-27 April 2012, was appointed on a permanent basis by Committee members to serve as Secretariat to the Committee in order to provide the needed coordination of information between members of the Committee, the MRCCs and the RMRCC, as well as communicating with external bodies on behalf of the Committee.



At the third Committee Meeting in Abidjan, from 13-15 March 2013, the need for rapporteurs to assist the Chairman with secretarial duties during meetings was considered and Sierra Leone and Guinea were appointed as the Rappoteurs for English and French respectively.

Past & Current Rapporteurs Years in office
Sierra Leone/Guinea March 2013 - present


NW African Guests and IMRF Members with an username and password can log in here. If you don't have log in details for the NW African Library, request them now. Have you forgotten your username/password? E-mail us at info@imrf.org.uk for resetting your password. Or use the "Forgot Login?" function below.

The website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best user experience. To read more about our Privacy Policy and the cookies used, please click on 'more information'.
More information Ok